Ewing named chairman of Indiana Bankers

Ewing, president of Jasper-based German American Bank, was elected 2018 chairman at the IBA convention in French Lick, Ind.

Clay Ewing, president of German American Bank, Jasper, Ind., accepts the IBA leadership gavel from 2017 chairman Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport, Ind.
Clay Ewing, president of German American Bank, Jasper, Ind., accepts the IBA leadership gavel from 2017 chairman Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport, Ind.

Bankers at the recent Indiana Bankers Association convention in French Lick, Ind., elected Clay Ewing as its next chairman for 2018.

Ewing is the president and board secretary for German American Bancorp in Jasper, Ind., as well as president of German American Bank, which has $3 billion in assets. Ewing takes the reins from Annette Russell of Security Federal Savings Bank in Logansport.

As chairman of IBA, Ewing sees his role as acting as advisor to Amber VanTil “as she becomes more comfortable in her role.” Van Til was named president and CEO of the trade association on Jan. 1.

Ewing has had varied experiences working in banking for nearly four decades and sees how this has prepared him for this new role. “I have been very blessed to work in a community banking environment that allowed me to work in every area of the bank.  I have also served in a senior management role for many years.  This experience has taught me the leadership skills to manage people, think strategically, and understand the needs of our customers, staff, and the industry as a whole,” Ewing explained. “While I don’t have all of the answers, I have tried to prepare myself and surround myself with quality individuals and work together to build a successful German American Bancorp.  This experience lends itself well to leading the IBA.”

Ewing has the association’s and the state’s financial educational opportunities in sight as he makes his goals for the year. “The IBA also provides educational services to Indiana financial institutions.  One of my personal goals is to work with the major universities in Indiana to offer a banking major within their school of business.  This would provide an opportunity for college students interested in banking as a career [with] educational and internship opportunities with the objective of having full employment upon graduating.  It will also fill a void within Indiana-domiciled banks as they continuously search for qualified adults entering the workforce and returning to their hometowns.”

Banking first drew Ewing in as a way “to make a difference in my hometown while having the potential of enjoying a successful business career,” Ewing said. “Banking at the community bank level offered opportunities to meet both of these goals.” He appreciates the fact banking has offered him “the ability to help people,” he said, and help them meet their financial goals. “I have also had the privilege of managing individuals and helping them grow both personally and professionally.”

Ewing joined German American in 1994 as president and CEO of a subsidiary bank of the company. Active in regional economic development, he currently serves as chairman of the Perry County Development Corp. and as a board member of the Economic Development Coalition of Southwest Indiana, in addition to service on various other civic and community boards.

A past southwest region director of the IBA, Ewing is a graduate of Lockyear College, Evansville, and of The School for Bank Administration at the University of Wisconsin.

Other board members elected were:

IBA Officers

First Vice Chair – Andrew J. Briggs, Bank of Geneva
Second Vice Chair – Lucas White, The Fountain Trust Company, Covington
Immediate Past Chair – Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport
President and CEO – Amber R. Van Til, Indiana Bankers Association

Constituent Directors
ICBA State Director – Michael H. Head, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville
ABA Membership Council – Michael K. Bauer, WesBanco Bank, New Albany
Future Leadership Division President – Kirby Drey, Kentland Bank
Non-Indiana Headquartered Bank Director – Tim Massey, BMO Harris Bank, Indianapolis

Northeast Region Directors
Jeffrey W. Gump, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Laotto
Michael C. Rechin, First Merchants Corporation, Muncie
Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington

Northwest Region Directors
Benjamin J. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster
Joseph D. Carlson, Community State Bank, Royal Center
Arden L. Cramer, Logansport Savings Bank

Southeast Region Directors
Archie M. Brown Jr., MainSource Financial Group, Greensburg
George W. Ferriell, Bath State Bank
Gregory Inman, Scottsburg Building and Loan Association

Southwest Region Directors
Matthew W. Howrey, North Salem State Bank
Kent L. Parisien, The First National Bank of Odon
Jamie R. Shinabarger, Springs Valley Bank & Trust Company, Jasper